Brief history of the monastery

In 1864, a colony of religious Cistercians from the Abbey of Sénanque established themselves at Ségriès. They worked the earth and cultivated the vineyards, helping the community to flourish. Even then, a section of the monastery was open to retreats, the Cistercians stayed for about 30 years. Subsequently there were different settlers. During World War 1, nuns sheltered refugees here. Later, the monastery became a perfume lab. At different times it was a children's summer camp, a sumptuous residence for an industrialist from Nice, and even a private studio for a film actor.

In 1996, Annemarie and Dhruv took up the challenge of restoring the monastery. With years of experience, they offer a privileged welcome to guests and renewing the hospitable spirit of the monastery.


<< a magical place
FrancaisEnglishNederlands